A Couple of Couplets

Today the poets of 4Wa learned  about “couplets”. We know that a couplet is a two-line poem that rhymes. Here are a few of our word creations from today!

Reese:

My favorite sport is biking,

but I really feel like hiking!

Timo:

Kicking the ball in the sun, 

I play with my friend it is fun.

Lily:

Juggling peppers is cool

But sometimes I look like a fool!

Nick:

Monsters are in a pail –

They are in trouble, they wail!

Darian:

Cheese and peas, on my knees –

Am I gonna make you sneeze?

Damien:

Huge bigfoots are big and scary,

All of the others are little and hairy.

Brianna:

Sometimes I see my cat

Wearing a pretty funky hat!

Megan:

Going to cut up my spaghetti

With my huge antique machete!

Jaxson:

There was a monkey who sold some snakes,

The only thing bad was he baked them with cakes.

Quintin:

I started my poetry and stuffed it in my pocket,

Maybe I should have tried to lock it!

Hunter:

I wish we could play video games,

but instead we have to read names.

Ashley:

Cheese is so yummy,

But it does not go through my tummy.

Brandon:

This is a very bad bird,

But he is acting like a turd.

Caitlyn:

I love the muppets,

But I hate the puppets!

Nate:

My back is a pack,

It’s not a funny jack.

Ethan:

Since you are missing an eye,

It would be hard to look at the sky….

Mitchell:

I like cherry pies,

It tastes like jelly flies!

Shelby:

Gee, I don’t want you to take my toe.

I have to try to stay super low!

Sierra:

The owls are howling all night,

I might just let them have a light!

Michaela:

You make my laundry nice and neat,

My mom makes me dinner and I eat!

Bailey:

I have a big corn,

It can hold candy corn!

Jaden:

The cat go fat, so did the rat,

Followed by a guy named Matt!

Rhyanna:

For a wedding I was throwing confetti,

The couple’s names were Joe and Betty.

4 thoughts on “A Couple of Couplets

  1. Today we are learning to do couplets too!! They are really fun!!
    i.e. Itouched my toes
    then blew my nose!!

Leave a Reply

