We Love the Landfill

This week, the Grade 4 classes of IREC travelled to Red Deer to tour the Waste Management Facility. Ask your child – it is NOT a dump!

4Wa students showed off their science knowledge on the tour, and impressed the presenter with their keen questioning skills. What an awesome learning experience for us! you can check out Ms. Woitas’ class blog to see some examples of the different areas of the facility. Just go to the following site to check it out!

misswoitas.wordpress.com

Here are a few pictures of us at the landfill.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please leave a comment below with your child to share what he/she learned on the tour of the landfill.

16 thoughts on “We Love the Landfill

  1. It was fun, & I really enjoyed seeing all the birds & learning how the workers scare them away. I also learned that a cell can be as big as a football field. I also told my Mom we need to start a compost bin. -Quintin Toro-

  2. Bailey liked driving over the garbage and she thinks it was um cool that the guy had worked there for thirty years. Also going through the tunnel with garbage was neat and she just liked the whole field trip! It was very informative. She does not want to ever work at one though, just an interesting place to visit.:)

    I (mom) have learned how a landfill is different from a dump. I found it very surprising and great how they turn covered over landfills into Dog parks and golf courses.

  3. Michaela learnt that there are special areas for hazardous waste and other types of waste. Also really liked that there was a recycled items area where you could get free stuff :).

  4. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and superb design and style.

  5. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

